Unified Football Tournament 2017

On 11 Οκτωβρίου, 2017, posted in: Uncategorized by Δεν επιτρέπεται σχολιασμός στο Unified Football Tournament 2017

The Unified Football Tournament was held with great success on Wednesday, October 4, 2017 from 09:30 to 13:00, at the Stadium of PAEEK Kyrenias.

The above event was attended by asylum seekers residing at the International Protection Appeal and Reception Center, and athletes of Special Olympics Cyprus.

The main co-organizer was the Cyprus Football Federation and the tournament was under the auspices of the Cyprus Olympic Committee. Lions International sponsored the event.

The purpose of the tournament was to give the message of elimination of racism and to expand the Unified Sports where people with and without mental disabilities can participate in football matches with the main goal of socialization.

The ceremony begun with the Flame of Hope, carried by the marathon runners of the Cyprus Police Torch Run.

The President of the Republic of Cyprus, Mr. Nikos Anastasiades, gave his presence at the event, where he spoke and greeted all the athletes. During his speech he commented “What is achieved through this action is to overcome discrimination, whether race or skills or capabilities or countries of origin, and I would like to congratulate the Special Olympics Cyprus, the Cyprus Sport Organization (CSO) and generally, all of you, for the multifaceted work you are doing. The Government will be at your side for anything you need”.

Finally, by giving a different note to the event, the President executed two penalties, but did not manage to score any goals, showcasing that abilities differ and it is not the goal that matters but playing together and understanding each other.

Professional A Division Class football players, gave their presence and participated in the field of play with our athletes. The athletes who attended were Elias Charalambous (AEK Larnaca), Elvire Maloku (AEK Larnaca), Vladimir Boljevic (AEK Larnaca), Tassos Kissas (Apollon Limassol), Yannis Hadjivasilis (Apollon Limassol), Angelos Pouyukkas, Konstantinos Samaras (Olympiacos Nicosia ), Andre Alves (Anorthosis), Maduro Hedwiges, Marios Demetriou, Benet, Omonia Nicosia, Kakos Georgiou and Michalis Dimitriou (Nea Salamina), Nea Salamina and Rainer Raouffman.

The event was honored with their presence by the Minister of Education and Culture Dr. Kostas Kadis, Representative of UNCHR in Cyprus Mr. Damtew Dessalegne, the President of Cyprus Sports Organization Mr. Kleanthis Georgiadis, the President of Cyprus Olympic committee Mr. Dinos Michaelides, the Cyprus Football Association Chief Financial Officer Mr. Andreas Morias, Inspectors of Primary and Secondary Education, Representatives from the Police Headquarters and others.

Special Olympics Cyprus would like to thank the co-organizers, the Cyprus Football Federation, the Cyprus Sports Organization, and the Cyprus Olympic Committee for their support. We would also like to thank the Cyprus Referee Association for assisting with the event. Finally, special thanks to PAEEK Kyrenia Sports Center for its great hospitality.